Bushy's birthday happened. We drove and we drank and we laughed and we talked and we ate and we talked some more and Jenna and I slept on the couches next to the kitchen and I was too scared to sleep because the demon was making noises all night so I made Nicole come down from upstairs and come and get us. And that's what happened.
Sam's birthday happened. We drove and we tanned (I use the term "tanned" very loosely) and we talked and we laughed and we ate and we swam and we lazy river'ed that bitch up and we took part in a competition and we thought we won so we celebrated our win but then we didn't actually win but then the winner gave us the prize anyway so we won wine and then we drove home and then we drank, a lot, and I didn't feel anything (but that's a story for another time) and then we slept and then we woke up and then we talked some more. And that's what happened.
And I went to my favourite place on Earth - The Kruger National Park. I saw elephants and impala and rhinos and lions and buffalo and birds and monkeys and more elephants and squirrels and I drank cheap box Mojito and I saw more elephants and then I remembered that I'm afraid of elephants and then I cried and then I pulled myself together and then we saw a burnt out car in the middle of the bush and then we drove and drove and drove and there was some more driving and then we went to so many different camps and then I gazed up at the stars and I could see so many of them because there was no light pollution and it was so much more beautiful than anyone could ever imagine and then there were some more elephants.
And then Sam and I went to Ballito. And we drove and we drove but not too much driving and then we went to the beach and we tanned (again, loosely) and then we ate pizza and then we walked and walked and walked and walked forever and then we stopped walking and we sat down on the sand and then we ate more pizza and then we ate Steers and then we watched Survivor and then we went to Gateway and we watched American Pie and we laughed and we laughed and we laughed and then we ate more pizza and then we went to the beach and we drank and drank and drank and I had deep conversations with Sam's brother and then we stumbled home and then we went night swimming and then we slept and we slept and we slept and then we went swimming and we avoided the local surfers because they wanted to stab us and then we slept and then drove and then we ate KFC and watched Project X and I laughed and Sam cried and then we ate McDonalds and then we ate Wimpy and ate and ate and ate and drove and drove and drove and that was all.
And then I read the Hunger Games and it was amazing.
And I think some other stuff happened too, but I can't really remember any of it.
And then I blinked and now I'm back at school.
Documented Chaos
A rather foolish attempt at trying to make sense of the world and the beautifully flawed people that inhabit it.
Tuesday, 24 April 2012
Friday, 16 March 2012
Ales's 18th
"Smart casual" was what was printed on the Beatles themed invitation. Fuck.
There's a thin line between smart and casual, and it was a line that I managed to miss every single time. I always went either too smart or too casual (and by "too smart", I mean "too casual"). So, one can only imagine the state I was in on that fateful Saturday morning, considering it was the very first 18th of 2012, and it had to be perfect. My mom dropped me off at Fourways Mall at around 10 o'clock and gave me two hours to find something to wear (because, apparently, wearing my Bob Marley harem pants from the flee market was not appropriate). As you can expect, I didn't find anything, and I was in a really bad mood. I was on the edge of despair when my mom called me and told me to come meet her in Sandton City and that I could look for something in Cotton On.
Four hours, a pair of black jeggings, a brown belt, a white tank top, a red and blue plaid shirt, and a pair of hipster glasses later, I was ready to get my groove on.
The reason this post has taken so long is because I was waiting for the pictures to be uploaded onto Facebook. As it turns out, that party wasn't that well documented (which in hindsight, is probably a very, very good thing). But, never fear, here are some of the pictures that I tracked down and stole from a few of my friends' Facebook pages, without permission:
That party brought my grade together like I never expected. And just to try and convey to you how kick-ass it was: The party was on a Saturday night. A certain guy was only fit enough (if you know what I mean) to come back to school on Thursday. We thought he died. Okay, not really... but we were starting to.
Stay tuned for the entry regarding Bushy's 18th which is taking place tomorrow.
Here is the basic plan for her celebrations:
There's a thin line between smart and casual, and it was a line that I managed to miss every single time. I always went either too smart or too casual (and by "too smart", I mean "too casual"). So, one can only imagine the state I was in on that fateful Saturday morning, considering it was the very first 18th of 2012, and it had to be perfect. My mom dropped me off at Fourways Mall at around 10 o'clock and gave me two hours to find something to wear (because, apparently, wearing my Bob Marley harem pants from the flee market was not appropriate). As you can expect, I didn't find anything, and I was in a really bad mood. I was on the edge of despair when my mom called me and told me to come meet her in Sandton City and that I could look for something in Cotton On.
Four hours, a pair of black jeggings, a brown belt, a white tank top, a red and blue plaid shirt, and a pair of hipster glasses later, I was ready to get my groove on.
The reason this post has taken so long is because I was waiting for the pictures to be uploaded onto Facebook. As it turns out, that party wasn't that well documented (which in hindsight, is probably a very, very good thing). But, never fear, here are some of the pictures that I tracked down and stole from a few of my friends' Facebook pages, without permission:
![]() |
| ARE YOU NOT ENTERTAINED?! |
![]() |
| I'd say the birthday girl is having a good time, wouldn't you? |
That party brought my grade together like I never expected. And just to try and convey to you how kick-ass it was: The party was on a Saturday night. A certain guy was only fit enough (if you know what I mean) to come back to school on Thursday. We thought he died. Okay, not really... but we were starting to.
Stay tuned for the entry regarding Bushy's 18th which is taking place tomorrow.
Here is the basic plan for her celebrations:
- 11am: Meet at her house and go off to town to a little place called Neighbour Goods for some shopping and intoxicating and all-around merriment.
- 5pm: Go back to Bushy's house.
- 7pm: Enjoy a lovely dinner at Design Quarter.
Here is what will actually happen:
- 11am: Meet at her house and go off to town to a little place in Neighbour Goods for some shopping and intoxicating and all-around merriment.
- 8am (Sunday morning): Wake up in Benoni, with nothing but a face tattoo and a monkey.
You think I'm joking.
Tuesday, 06 March 2012
Get Psyched
Okay, so I know that owe you guys (I'm assuming that there's someone reading this. Hello? Anyone out there? Anyone?) a few entries pertaining to the 31 Day Challenge, and they're coming soon! Don't lose fate! But for now, I need to share this with you:
Each day is a day that you will never get back again. I'm not going to go off on a preach about seizing the day, but I'm going to tell you this: I'm happiest when I'm happy. And one thing that makes me happy is music. Particularly the type of music that makes me want to go wild and throw heavy stuff through windows. So, what I did today was one of the greatest things I've ever done - I made myself a Get Psyched playlist, which I will listen to whenever I'm feeling a bit down. I urge you all to do it. No, you don't have to make your own, that would be silly. Just copy mine. Seriously, do it
Each day is a day that you will never get back again. I'm not going to go off on a preach about seizing the day, but I'm going to tell you this: I'm happiest when I'm happy. And one thing that makes me happy is music. Particularly the type of music that makes me want to go wild and throw heavy stuff through windows. So, what I did today was one of the greatest things I've ever done - I made myself a Get Psyched playlist, which I will listen to whenever I'm feeling a bit down. I urge you all to do it. No, you don't have to make your own, that would be silly. Just copy mine. Seriously, do it
- Hall & Oates - You Make My Dreams Come True
- Billy Idol - Dancin' With Myself
- Twisted Sister - I Wanna Rock
- House of Pain - Jump Around
- Bruce Springsteen - Dancing In The Dark
- Bruce Springsteen - Murder Incorporated
- Joe Esposito - You're The Best Around
- Bon Jovi - You Give Love A Bad Name
- Digital Underground - The Humpty Dance
- Van Halen - Panama
- Poison - Talk Dirty To Me
- Rick Springfield - Jessie's Girl
- Scorpions - Rock You Like A Hurricane
- Journey - Don't Stop Believing
- Journey - Anyway You Want It
- Bon Jovi - Livin' On A Prayer
- Damn Yankees - High Enough
- The Clash - Should I Stay Or Should I Go?
- Naughty By Nature - Hip Hop Hooray
- AC/DC - Thunderstruck
- Bon Jovi - It's My Life
- Lynyrd Skynyrd - Free Bird
- AC/DC - Highway To Hell
- Survivor - Eye Of The Tiger
Is it a playlist that is comprised solely of 70's, 80's, and 90's rock? Yes. Yes, it is. Will it be the greatest playlist you ever listen to? Yes. Yes, it will be. Are you welcome? Yes. Yes, you are.
Sunday, 26 February 2012
Ready Thy Tits
My next topic for discussion on my 31 Day Challenge is to reveal the weird things I do when I'm home alone. As you can imagine, I'm putting off posting that entry for as long as possible because when I do, I might not have any friends left and/or it might lead to my untimely and inevitable social downfall. Okay, as true as that is, the real reason that it's taking its time is because I haven't been home alone in a while and I have a little thing planned for you guys which requires me to, literally, be home alone.
What I have planned is super exciting and it's going to knock your motherfucking socks off. And if it doesn't, well, that's awkward.
| Get it? |
Oh, and tomorrow I'm going to tell you about one of the greatest nights of my life.
So, there. You have two things to be excited for. What am I excited for? Tomorrow. You know why? Because tomorrow I get to see my amazing friends again.
Oh yeah and Glee.
Thursday, 23 February 2012
11. If I Had 24 Hours To Live...
In light of recent events, the content of this entry has changed from what it would have been a week ago. Let me start off by saying that, as most of you probably already know, the Crawford family lost a brother this week. He went too young, and he will always be remembered, missed, and loved. I never met him, but he changed the way I look at things, as he did for many other people too. He's with God now, and I know he is happier and at peace. I am so saddened by how it had to happen, but I'm grateful in that, through this, many people have been affected and have decided to re-think certain aspects of life.
R.I.P Philip Lombard. There will never be another you, and you were so special, and I thank you from the bottom of my heart for helping me realise the things that I did. But I'm so sorry that it had to be that way, and I hope that I have the honour of meeting you one day, in another place.
If I had only 24 hours to live, and those 24 hours were tomorrow, this is the most perfect way I can think of to spend my last day:
I would walk up to this girl who is very important to me, who I haven't spoken to in a while, and I would pretend to be a jelly fish to rid the situation of any awkwardness. And then I'd give her a hug and tell her to come with me. Then, I'd get all of my friends and family members, and I'd shove them onto a plane (and being the nice person that I am, I'd totes pay for their tickets). I'd take everyone with me to Cape Town, because I've only seen the sea about three or four times in my life, and I haven't been in a while. We would spend the day on the beach - laughing, talking, recollecting memories and telling stories, listening to music, eating, drinking, singing, dancing, hugging, playing, trying to surf, and perving over hot surfers who actually know what they're doing. My jelly fish friend and I would play soccer one last time, and all my cougar friends and I would argue about who the hottest grade 8 (oh, speaking of hot grade 8's, before boarding the plane, I'd totally go all Cougar Town over my hot grade 8. Not in a weird way. I'm just saying) at our school is. We would have sushi and cocktails and macaroni and cheese and mexican food and McFlurrys and caramel vodka shots and we would talk about life and pretend to be all deep and philosophical, even though we'd probably be talking a load of bullshit. This would go on all day and all night, and, come sunrise, you would find us all huddled together on a blanket, looking out at the horizon, watching the waves, and listening to Save Tonight by Eagle Eye Cherry. When the time came, I would get up, walk over to each person and give them the biggest bear hug. I would look them each in the eyes and tell them just how much I love them.
And then, I would walk away, happy as can be.
R.I.P Philip Lombard. There will never be another you, and you were so special, and I thank you from the bottom of my heart for helping me realise the things that I did. But I'm so sorry that it had to be that way, and I hope that I have the honour of meeting you one day, in another place.
If I had only 24 hours to live, and those 24 hours were tomorrow, this is the most perfect way I can think of to spend my last day:
I would walk up to this girl who is very important to me, who I haven't spoken to in a while, and I would pretend to be a jelly fish to rid the situation of any awkwardness. And then I'd give her a hug and tell her to come with me. Then, I'd get all of my friends and family members, and I'd shove them onto a plane (and being the nice person that I am, I'd totes pay for their tickets). I'd take everyone with me to Cape Town, because I've only seen the sea about three or four times in my life, and I haven't been in a while. We would spend the day on the beach - laughing, talking, recollecting memories and telling stories, listening to music, eating, drinking, singing, dancing, hugging, playing, trying to surf, and perving over hot surfers who actually know what they're doing. My jelly fish friend and I would play soccer one last time, and all my cougar friends and I would argue about who the hottest grade 8 (oh, speaking of hot grade 8's, before boarding the plane, I'd totally go all Cougar Town over my hot grade 8. Not in a weird way. I'm just saying) at our school is. We would have sushi and cocktails and macaroni and cheese and mexican food and McFlurrys and caramel vodka shots and we would talk about life and pretend to be all deep and philosophical, even though we'd probably be talking a load of bullshit. This would go on all day and all night, and, come sunrise, you would find us all huddled together on a blanket, looking out at the horizon, watching the waves, and listening to Save Tonight by Eagle Eye Cherry. When the time came, I would get up, walk over to each person and give them the biggest bear hug. I would look them each in the eyes and tell them just how much I love them.
And then, I would walk away, happy as can be.
Tuesday, 14 February 2012
I Hate Valentines Day 2.0
This will only make sense to you if you've read I Hate Valentines Day, which you'll find located directly below this. So, in the middle of my anti-date with Noah, as we were discussing how forever alone we both are, I suggested that we make a pact that if neither of us are married by 40, we should just take it as a sign and tie the knot.
He refused. Not in a joking way. He flat out refused to agree to the pact.
Fuck you, Valentines Day.
I Hate Valentines Day
I have no doubt in my mind that this entry will join a countless number of other rants as to why V-Day should just be scrapped from the calendar, and it's slightly mainstream and cliched of me to do this, but I'm doing it anyway. I have never said the four words "I hate Valentines Day" and I never really thought that I'd be one of those people. But, as much of a cynic as I am, I still have a tiny shred of hope for the future, so let me rephrase:
I hated Valentines Day 2012.
Today sucked for the following reasons:
I hated Valentines Day 2012.
Today sucked for the following reasons:
- For the 18th V-Day in succession, I was alone.
- I subjected myself to the torturous routine of Adele and Nutella right out of the jar. Now I have to exercise even more tomorrow to work that shit off. Fun.
- I was supposed to have a pizza-and-Glee night with Sam tonight, but I couldn't go.
- I wore a Forever Alone shirt today, which was all fun and games until I got home, curled up into the fetal position and realized how truly forever alone I really am.
- I missed the person who wasn't sitting next to me in Afrikaans today.
- V-Day whores.
- Today was the first Valentines Day that I cried.
- South Africa is like 45 years behind America in terms of television so I don't even get to watch the Valentines episode of Glee with the rest of the world tonight.
- Seriously, I ate my weight in Nutella.
- NEVERMIND I'LL FIND SOMEONE LIKE YOUUUUUU!!!!!!!!
- I'm almost 100% sure that my 11 year old brother has a more eventful love life than me.
- I like someone who will never ever like me back.
- And the saddest reason of all, I had an anti-Valentines Day anti-date scheduled on Skype with my friend Noah from America. It was supposed to be 45 minutes ago and he's still offline. Does that mean I got stood up?
And that, ladies and gentlemen, is why Valentines Day 2012 has to go down as one of the suckiest days ever. On the up side, we all wore awesome (and depressing) shirts, I got a few roses from friends, and I worked up the courage and sent out a rose to-
Oops. Noah just came online. Now I'm going to tell him everything I just told you. I guess you'll never know who got that rose.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)











