Saturday, 24 December 2011

Forewarning And A Possible Farewell For Now

Task 8 on the 31 Day Challenge requires me to write a letter to someone. I know exactly what I'm going to do but I want to put a lot of thought into it so I don't think I'll be posting my entry about it for a little while, at least until Christmas and my birthday is over. I should put it up some time between then and New Years, but I can't promise anything. If I don't manage to do that, it will be up early in the new year, I assure you. 

Tomorrow is Christmas, so I'd like to take a moment to wish anyone who's reading this the very merriest of Christmases. I hope it is filled with all the love and happiness in the world, and that all your wishes come true. Don't miss out on the chance to let your friends and family know just how much they mean to you, okay? As for Boxing Day, well, that's my birthday, so it's all about me, and you all have to do what I say. Just joking. But not really. 

And, if this is the last time you hear from me in 2011, I'd like to wish you all a happy New Year. I hope that New Years Eve is a memorable one for all of you, even though I know some of you might not remember it the next day. Hopefully 2011, through all the lows and all the many more highs, was an amazing year for all of you, but let's make 2012 rock even harder, agreed? And if the Mayans really did know their shit, well, let's go out with a bang!

Merry Christmas, Happy New Year, and mad love.

Yours epicly,
Me.

PS - If you're reading this, thanks for sticking with this blog in it's birth. It really means a lot to me. Next year, it will be so rad that it will knock your socks off. Or something like that. 

7. Invisible For A Day

You know, I thought long and hard about this entry. I typed stuff down and I backspaced it all, more times than I could count, and I came to a conclusion: Apart from stealing stuff, sneaking into places you wouldn't normally be allowed to go, and spying on people (which I would definitely do but I don't want you to think I'm a creep so I'm not going to include that in the agenda), there isn't a lot else you could do when you're invisible. I mean, it seems pretty boring actually. So, I went and changed the rules up a little bit. Yes, I'm still invisible, but more importantly, I have the power to 'jump' from place to place like that guy from Jumper, and I also have the power to make myself visible (my gosh, I almost said uninvisible) should I so desire. So, if I were invisible for 24 hours, my day would go something like this:

6am - Wake up

6:15am - Shower. Naked. Hehe.

7:00am - Go to Fourways and magically conjure up a pair of Heelys, and Heely down the ramp to the movies. I shit you not, the Monday after I bought my Heelys, they put up the "No Heelys" sign, and I never got to go down the Fourways Movies ramp.

7:30am - Run around, pushing people into people, and constantly tap random people on the shoulder, until a fight breaks out.

8:10am - Find Julius Malema, and beat the crap out of him. And then when he's on the floor, writhing in pain, screaming "WHY?!", I'll be like, "Bitch, you know why! YOU KNOW WHY!"

8:45am - Haunt the shit out of Jhayde for a good hour or so, just for the laughs.

9:45am - Find each one of my 'enemies', and give them each a hug. Then I'd probably push them over.

10am - Steal millions of toys, clothes, and food, 'jump' around the world, and give them to all the little kids and families in need.

12pm - 'Jump' to America.

12:02pm - Find Stephenie Meyer, and beat the crap out of her. And then when she's on the floor, writhing in pain, screaming "WHY?!", I'll be like, "Bitch, you know why! YOU KNOW WHY!"

12:30pm - Find Kim Kardashian, stand in front of her, and shout "LOOOOL!" 

12:40pm - Go to wherever the US WNT is and watch their practice, in a totally non-creeper way.

1:30pm - Walk up to Tobin Heath. (Turn visible)

1:35pm - Get over the awe of being in her presence.

1:40pm - Give her the biggest high 5 ever and tell her what a great freaking job she's doing. (And then go back to being invisible)

1:43pm - Find Chris Pine and stare at him for a good 20 minutes or so. Mmm mmm mmm.

2:03pm - 'Jump' to the top of Mount Everest and have some sort of (invisible) spiritual reawakening.

2:30pm - Get some lunch. Probably Steers or something like that.

2:45pm - 'Jump' to wherever Emily is and be like, "Bitch, I'm invisible! Let's go break shit!" and then we'd probably watch some TV.

3:30pm - 'Jump' to Hawaii, and surf a little.

4pm - 'Jump' to the most remote island on the planet, just because I can.

5pm - Get hold of a red Jeep Wrangler Rubicon, and park its ass in my driveway.

5:30pm - Go to some A-list movie premiere, and walk down the red carpet. Like a boss.

7:30pm - Dinner.

7:50pm - Gather a whole bunch of friends, break into school, and WREAK HAVOC!!!

[I interrupt this entry to bring to you the exciting news that I just discovered that Allie Long retweeted me yesterday. Allie Long is a legit American soccer player and one of Tobin Heath's bff's. While I acknowledge that that probably doesn't mean much to you, for me it's pretty rad.]

10pm - Break into my principals office and give him a piece of my mind... through a very strongly worded anonymous letter.

10:30pm - 'Jump' to New York or Rio or wherever the party's at.

12:30pm - 'Jump' to the Amazon Rainforest, and explore for a little bit.

2am - 'Jump' to my favourite place in the whole wide world, and spend the remainder of my invisible hours exploring there.

5:59am - 'Jump' back home, and get some sleep.

I understand that it isn't the most interesting agenda in the whole world, but it suits me just fine.

Disclaimer: Yes, I would steal amazing clothes and gadgets and treasures and whatever else I fancy, and I would stalk certain people, but like I said, I don't want you to think badly of me, so I won't mention that.

Tuesday, 20 December 2011

6. Something I Miss...

My best friend;

My friends that are away, or that I just haven't got around to seeing. I made a list of people but then I soon realised that it was pretty much a list of my entire grade;

My grandparents;

My favourite place in the whole wide world;

The excitement of dying to know what happens to Harry in the next book;

The unity in South Africa during the 2010 Fifa World Cup;

The 2011 Fifa Women's World Cup;

My best friend;

The United States of America, especially the bottomless coke at all the restaurants;

Rachel, Ross, Monica, Chandler, Phoebe, and Joey;

My design class;

Kraken, and the inter-house events at Dainfern;

My friends from Dainfern;

Sometimes, my Dainfern uniform;

My best friend;

Jhaydey and Noo (See what I did there Nicole?! I used your nickname!) and Khanyi and Bushy and SamBam and everyone else. (If your name isn't there, don't get touched, it was most likely in the list above that I replaced with this: "I made a list of people but then I soon realised that it was pretty much a list of my entire grade.");

Froot Loops;

Those awesome Spider-Man suckers that you used to get years ago;

Pokemon Tazos;

The Moto Gp season;

Being able to show my age on my fingers;

Heelys;

My best friend;

The beach;

The days when something would happen with a certain History teacher, one person would tweet about it, and everyone would rush to them and demand to hear the full, detailed story;

The prospect of a new R.E.M album;

The old Survivor;

Lipton Mango Iced Tea;

Going to watch wildlife documentaries on the IMAX;

The times that turned into the greatest of memories;

Karate;

Believing in Santa, the Tooth Fairy, the Easter Bunny, and that my toys came to life when I went to sleep;

How things used to be before Disney Channel. I.e. Cartoon Network;

My best friend;

... are some of the things I miss.

Monday, 19 December 2011

Re: Inspirations

Remember when I said that I didn't have the internet cap to tell you why my best friend is such an inspiration to me? Well, I've managed to condense it a bit, and I'm going to tell you now. You'll learn more about her in the "25. Best Friends" post, but I just wanted to post this because she deserves it, and you all deserve to hear why she is so damn epic. Emily is my inspiration because:

She has the greatest sense of humour and she has this amazing ability to laugh, even in the hardest situations.

She is her own person, and she doesn't let anyone change who she is.

She is so radically different to anyone I have ever met, and that's what makes her irreplaceable.

She is so much stronger than she will ever know.

She is the best 'big sister' ever, considering she's 27 days older than me.

She is considerate and patient enough to put up with my weirdness and bullshit.

She is someone I can stand up for no matter what, and I know she'd do the same for me.

She is someone I can rely on no matter what, and I know that she knows she can always rely on me.

She will never forget about her inner-child, which is great, because when I'm still a five year old trapped in a
75 year old body, she'll be right there with me. We'll never grow up, and that, to me, is so amazing.

She knows me like the back of her hand, and I know her more than I know myself.

She is brave. Ridiculously brave.

She doesn't let anyone tell her she can't do something, and she doesn't let anything get in her way. When she
wants something, she works so hard to get it.

She kicks ass on the soccer field.

She always give it her all, no matter what it is, she gives it her absolute best.

She is cool enough to be my best friend.

She is Emily.

5. Pink


First of all, I would like to apologise for the delay. You know how it is - Christmas shopping and whatnot. I can't promise a daily post for the next week or so, but I will try my best. That being said, let's move onto today's task: Pink.

As soon as I saw this topic (or, uh, rather, as soon as I decided to include this topic in the challenge), I knew immediately what had to be done. So, I'm not going to tell you what pink means to me, and I'm not going to go and photograph everything pink that I find (okay, I did that in one photo), but rather I am going to do this:

From birth, pink is associated with girls. It's quite ironic that a few hundred years ago, pink was known as a boy's colour because of its similarities to red (true story), and blue was the girl's colour, but I'm not one to live in the past, so let's just take it as pink = Girl. For the most part of my life, I've been known as a bit of a tomboy, so I've decided that today I am going to do a little comparison between all things tomboy and all things girly in my life, and we'll see what comes out on top. (That's what he said.)

And off we go.

High heels (which are actually a lot higher than they look) = 30 Girly Points
 
Spider-Man duvet = 25 Tomboy Points
Some girly looking jewelry holding thing, and perfume and... stuff = 12 Girly Points
Soccer ball with personalised Tobin Heath's '#17' - 10 Tomboy Points
All the pink clothes I own... which isn't a lot and they're most tomboy-ey clothes so = 5 Girly Points
Motorbike and motocross helmet = 35 Tomboy Points
Hanger of ridiculous dresses incl. a tutu = 27 Girly Points
Valentino Rossi poster = 30 Tomboy Points
A year's worth of Seventeen and Saltwater Girl magazines = 20 Girly Points
Ke$ha and 'The World According To Girls'  posters = 8 Girly Points
Pink golf clubs. Yes. they're pink, but let's not forget that they're golf clubs = 5 Girly Points/40 Tomboy Points
Motorbike models in front of Gossip Girl books = 20 Tomboy Points/20 Girly Points (This is the part where you ignore the Twilight books. I'm, uhm, keeping them for a friend. Yes! That's it! For a friend)

So, there you have it - a summary of my girliness and my tomboyness. Let's rally up the points! Maestro! Drum roll, please! 

Girly Points: 127 points.
Tomboy Points: 160 points.

And there it is. Considering the fact that I don't play golf anymore, I'd call it even Steven. 

Tune in next next time to find out what I am missing at the moment. Until then, ta ta bitches.

Saturday, 17 December 2011

To My Millions of Readers:

I acknowledge that is has been a few days since my last entry, and I know I really should get my act together but there have been a few technical difficulties on my end. I assure you that the "Pink" entry will be posted as soon as I feel li- uh. I mean, as soon as we sort out the technical difficulties. We at the Documented Chaos offices sincerely appreciate your patience.

Wednesday, 14 December 2011

4. Something I'm Excited For...

Excitement has to be one of the greatest feelings ever, don't you agree? The knowledge that something good is about to happen, and right now it's just out of reach but when it finally arrives, it makes the whole wait worthwhile, right?

A few years ago, around the same time that I had my pre-mid-life crisis ("I'm 15! My life is over! Time to blow this joint and Sylvia Plath this shit up! Etc."? Yeah, THAT pre-mid-life crisis), I had convinced myself that as I had grown older, I had lost the ability feel excitement towards, well, anything, and that there was pretty much no point in getting my hopes up about any possible good coming my way. Gosh, that kind of thinking is so 2008. So, I got over my ridiculously annoying 15 year old emo-kid self, and I cheered the fuck up. And so, this is a post to prove the melodramatic younger me that she was a complete and utter tool. Let's begin, shall we?

I'm excited for a lot of things. I'm excited for Lauren to touch down in the Burg of Jo's on Friday; I'm excited for the mission that Khanyi, Jhayde and I will be undertaking soon; I'm excited for Em to come home in a few weeks; I'm excited by the prospect of actually seeing friends that I haven't seen in a while (a while is a period of time that ranges between two days and two years); I'm excited for Nicole to come home from England and bring me back a guard from Buckingham Palace; I'm excited for Breaking Dawn part 2 to come out so we can finally be done with all the fuckery; I'm excited for next year and everything that it's going to bring: the laughs, the tears, the late nights, the all-nighters (for, you know, Design), the times we'll never forget and the nights we'll never remember, the friends made and the friends kept, the trips, blah blah blah; I'm excited to get my matric jacket; I'm excited for the road trip to G-Town next year that is definitely going down; I'm excited for Glee Season 3; I'm excited for motocross this weekend; I'm excited for the day when I will go back to my favourite place on the planet, which is hopefully not too far away; and I'm excited for all the things that the future will produce, that will bring me excitement.

And before I end this, I have to mention two more things that I'm excited for:

Christmas - My favourite day of the year. Is it the presents that I'm excited for? Is it my mom's amazing cooking? Is it the fact that everyone is obliged to be happy that day, and no one's allowed to fight? Is it because my brother will wake me up at 5am by throwing something at me? Is it because it's a day that all those among us who don't celebrate Thanksgiving (so, assuming that you're all South African, pretty much everyone), can reflect and truly marvel at how great the things and the people in our lives are? Is it the Christmas spirit and true meaning of the day? Is it because all the stores have been displaying Christmas decorations since October? Is it because of the Christmas tree? Is it because of the hours the planning and shopping that goes into making the day perfect? Is it because of the ridiculous home video that is made every single year? Is it because of the smiling and laughter that is so excessive that it makes your face hurt? Is just one of those the single reason why I'm excited? No, it's all of the above. But mainly the presents.

And, the very next day, it's my 17th birthday. Or as I like to call it: The 17th annual celebration of the day that I successfully completed "Operation: Escape from the Womb". After a year of waiting, a year of watching my friends and, uhm, acquaintances turn 17, a year of being constantly reminded of the fact that I won't be legal for matric vac, it's finally my time to shine. Until, you know, like ten days later when said friends and acquaintances start turning 18. And then I'm back to square one and the cycle repeats itself again and again. But that's not going to stop me from milking the fact that I am finally the same age as all you bitches for all it's worth.

And those are some of the things that I am excited for. Suck it, 15 year old me.

3. Inspirations

Tonight, boys and girls, I am coming to you from a fairly undiscovered and unexplored location: My friend Sam's bedroom. Very few people have ventured into this room, and lived to tell the tale. I just read that out loud to her, expecting praise or at least a chuckle, but I just got a very rude, and might I say, altogether inappropriate for kids our age, hand gesture.


Anyway, moving on.


Inspirations. This entry might prove to be incredibly clichéd, I don't know, I haven't written it yet, but when I'm finished I'll let you know. I don't really have much time, so I'm just going to get right into it. Some of the people that inspire me are:


My dad and my mom: Partly because they're super cool and hilarious characters, but mostly because they've managed to keep their shit together, keep sane, and raise the boss bitch that you all know and love. (clichéd but true.)


My grandparents: Because they've been married for 65 years, they've lived in the same house for that space of time, they popped out 3 kids (well, my gran kind of did that one solo), they've gone through two world wars, several presidential assassinations (I assume), 60's fashion, 70's fashion, 80's fashion, 90's and early 2000's fashion (and in my opinion, we all deserve medals for getting through that last one), and they haven't killed each other.


My best friend, Emily. Because of more reasons than I have the internet cap to type. 


Elena Myers: Became the first female motorbike racer to win an AMA Championship race, just two years ago, at the age of 16. Google that shit.


Travis Pastrana: The first motocross rider to ever successfully land a double backflip in a freestyle competition (Best Trick - X Games 2006) and all around bad ass. Google that shit. However, if you do, you seriously need to educate yourself.


Valentino Rossi: Without question the greatest Moto GP rider to ever sit on a motorbike. Google that shit. However, if you do, you seriously need to educate yourself.


(All my friends knew this one was coming) Tobin Heath: American female soccer player, sick skills, mad talent, master of nutmegging, and probably the coolest person on the planet (apart from, you know, yours truly). Google that shit. However, if you do, you obviously don't spend time with me very often, and you need to smack yourself upside the head. Oh yeah, and she tweeted me. No big deal. It was only, you know, the single greatest moment of my life.    


My amazing, hilarious, beautiful, awesome, understanding, wise, stupid, crazy-ass friends; each one in their own way. 


Tobin Heath.


50% of the people that have ever been on Oprah.


J.K Rowling: Brought magic to life in a way that no one else ever could, or ever will be able to again.


R.E.M. (Please tell me you don't have to Google that shit.)


Tobin Heath.


The beautifully deluded world around me. (Okay yes, that was clichéd.)


Justin Bieber. PSYCH.


Anyone who has the balls to just be themselves in this day and age, they're a fucking inspiration. Even if I don't like someone, if they're true to themselves, I have mad respect for them.


And, Tobin Heath. 


So yeah, that was kind of clichéd in some areas, not so clichéd in others, but it's my blog and I'll do whatever I want to do.


TobinHeathTobinHeathTobinHeathTobinHeathTobinHeathTobinHeathTobinHeathTobinHeath


Me: "Okay, I'm done." Sam: "Wow. And that only took... HALF MY LIFE."

Monday, 12 December 2011

I Have No Idea What Title To Give This Entry

I don't know if I'm technically allowed to do this, considering it is completely unrelated to the 31 Day Challenge, but I'm not going to let the Blogspot overlords tell me how to live my life and rules are meant to be broken, so here goes.

As far as big deals go, this is a fairly big deal.

I NOW HAVE ONE FOLLOWER!

Thank you, Lauren. When I win the Nobel Prize (or Academy Award or Grammy or Triwizard Cup or I'm appointed President of Pangea or something) one day, I'll be sure to include you in my acceptance speech. Unless I forget, or don't want to.

Hakuna Matata, bitches.

2. Confessions

Confessions are things that could either get you a lot of praise, or land you in, for lack of a better phrase, deep shit. Sometimes they're lighthearted and silly, other times they can lead to something better than you had ever imagined, but most times, they flip your whole life on its axis, and send your world spiraling ever downwards into a deep, dark chasm of doom and despair, the likes of which recent statistics show you will probably never return from. Too much? Okay, maybe I'm exaggerating just a little bit, but you get what I'm trying to say, right? That the repercussions (I was SO close to spelling that right on the first try) can span over the polar opposite ends of the spectrum, and shape your fate in whichever way suits their cruel, sick, twisted need to toy with your emotions? You get that, right? That being said, here are my confessions:

1. Even though I'm a girl, and history has shown time and time again that my natural habitat is indeed "the kitchen", I can't cook to save my life, so when I leave home in little over a year (assuming that I actually matriculate), I will be depending on a lot of cereal, and this here book, for my survival:


2. I sucked my thumb as a baby and still have been known to do it every now and then, when I'm scared or nervous. 

3. While I was setting up this blog, I had Justin Bieber's "Under The Mistletoe" on repeat. Of all the things I'm about to confess to you today, that is what I am most ashamed of. 

4. The day I successfully completed "Operation: Escape from the Womb", uhm, I mean, the day I was born, my uncle gave me a giant teddy bear. That giant teddy bear was later named Big Ted (What can I say? I come from a very creative family), and I still have him. And he may or may not take up permanent residence in my bed. And I promise you, I mean that in the least sexual way possible. Awkward. Anyway, this is Big Ted:


5. Unless you're blind, in which case I am very impressed by your ability to read this right now, you should have noticed the bed covers that Big Ted is lying on. No, your eyes aren't deceiving you, I do in fact have a Spider-Man duvet and I don't feel as though I have to explain myself to you. But let's just say, Spider-Man? He's a pretty sick badass motherfucker.

6. Another sick bamf, is Missy Peregrym, who can been seen below. She's the one with the "I am better than you in every way, we both know it, and I don't know why I'm wasting my time and awesomeness listening to your bullshit" look on her face:  
You probably recognize her from Stick It. If you have never seen Stick It, you seriously need to take a long, hard look at yourself in the mirror, get your ass in gear, and fix your life. But anyway, my point is, if I were to have a girl crush on anyone, it would be Missy Peregrym. I'm just sayin'. 

7. I went from getting 70's and 80's in Maths last year, to barely passing Maths this year. 

8. If I could be anything, I would be a surfer, a spy (true story), a comedian, a dancer, a traveler, a motocross racer, or a female (duh) soccer player for the USA team.

9. I have suffered from migraines that knock me unconscious my entire life, but no cause has been diagnosed. It's been quite a while since I've had one so I should be expecting one in the very near future. Yay. I also have constant subjective tinnitus which can get annoying but at the moment, it's really chilled. 

10. I am Gossip Girl. I am also A from Pretty Little Liars.

11. I really like tomato sauce on bread, by itself. Sue me. 

12. I once broke my dad's nose by throwing a Frisbee at his face. By accident.

13. Most times, I'm okay with the ginger jokes, but sometimes I wish people would know when to just quit it.

14. I have two smileys on my left arm. Smileys are the scars that come from burning a lighter until the metal gets really hot, and then branding your skin to leave that smiley face shape.

15. Last year, I went to a tanning bed twice a week for about 3 months, and I promise you, I did get a lot darker, but even then the sun could still reflect off of me, and no one really noticed a difference so eventually I was like, "Fuck this shit. It's cooking my insides and I'm not even benefiting." So I stopped. 

16. When I was younger, I was on the South African golf team. I have a strong natural talent and ability, and I could have gone on to be really, really good, but I hated golf. So, much to the disappointment of my dad, I quit. 

17. I cried on my 15th birthday because I thought I was so old and that my life was practically over and I had nothing to show for it.

18. I think Deadmau5 is the most overrated artist around right now. 

19. If I call you a bitch, it means I consider you a close friend and I like you very much. I may even love you.

20. I'm done.

Do with this information what you will. Until next time, adiós bitches

Sunday, 11 December 2011

1. 15 Random Things About Myself

The reason I put this at the top of the list was because I thought it would be one of the easiest tasks to complete. I was wrong. It turns out that having to write 15 things about myself, without mentioning anything that would later form the basis of one of the other tasks, proved to be a lot more difficult than I had guessed. But never fear, where there's a will, there's a way! Or, uhm, something not so clichéd. Point is, I wrote the list. Are you ready? Good. Here it comes. It's coming. Almost there. You sure you're ready? Absolutely sure? Okay, just one more second. Prepare yourself. I hope you're sitting down for this. We interrupt this blog to bring you an important news cast! No, I'm just kidding. Okay, there's the list:

Here's the list:

This thing right here, is the list:

1. I have a little scar on my forehead from where I burnt myself with a hair straightener.

2. I prefer chocolate milkshake to caramel milkshake. And by "milkshake", I, of course, mean vodka.

3. I was born with white hair which later darkened to the tone that you would probably identify as, gosh, what was that word again? It's not like I hear it 346582389423984285838429784 times a day. Uhm, oh yes! Ginger.

4. In my opinion, Kim Possible is definitely the best show on Disney Channel, and Phineas and Ferb comes in at a close second.

5. If the world really does end in 2012, it is scheduled to end 5 days before my birthday, which means that I'll never see 18.

6. If you're reading this and you were born in the same year that I was (1994), chances are you've had one more Christmas than I've had.

7. My BlackBerry is a white Curve.

8. My favourite number is 147. I'm also quite fond of 47 and 17.

9. This one time (at band camp [no, I kid]), my mom and I were on this tiny, dodgy looking boat on a dam in the middle of some game reserve, and a hippo hit the boat from underneath and almost tipped it. Within half a second, I had accepted that I was going to die.

10. This one time (at band camp [no, I kid]), I was going at about 138km/h on my motorbike passed Lanseria, when the engine seized, the front wheel locked up, and my bike skewed back and forth across both sides of the road. Within half a second, I had accepted that I was going to die.

11. I firmly believe that Sheldon Cooper, Sue Sylvester, and Brittany S. Pierce are the three most quotable fictional characters of all time, and that Mean Girls, Bridesmaids, and Easy A are the three most quotable movies of all time.

12. I could spell elephant when I was just four years old, and at the time, I thought that made me the biggest bamf (badass motherfucker) around.

13. The Jerry Springer Show makes my life.

14. Due to the fact that nearly every inch of my bedroom walls is covered with posters, pictures, photos, letters, or whatever else you could prestik to a wall, I am a boss when it comes to the strategic usage of a stick of prestik, and making it last a lot longer than it should.

15. One day, I will have three cats - a girl and two boys. I will name the girl Steven, and the boys Calamari and Tziken.

And just because I'm such a rebellious bamf, I'm going to put one more:

16. I can rap the Busta Rhymes part of Look At Me Now. No, seriously. I can.

Saturday, 10 December 2011

The First Step

If you'd be so kind as to take a stroll over to the About Me page, you would be amazed to find something rather extraordinary. So go on, do it, do it, do it NOW! Have you done it? See? I told you. I opened up the settings for a new page on my blog dashboard, entitled it "About Me", and proceeded to type in ridiculous garbage, only to backspace it all and replace it with more ridiculous garbage. At one point, I was tempted to write:

"I like hats, Mexican food, bean bag chairs, and Spider-Man. What do you like?"

and leave it at that. I later decided against that. I realised that I really didn't know what to write on the About Me page, and so I decided to create a little mission for myself. I'm going to do one of those 30 Day Challenge things that we tend to see scattered here and there across the wonderful land of the internet, and I'm hoping when it's over, it will have inspired something to put in the About Me page. Before I release the contents of the challenge, I must first come clean about a few things:

1. You know in Inception, when they speak about how no single idea is truly one's genuine creation? How every idea, thought, and deed is influenced one way or another? Well, I'll admit that I got the idea for the challenge from another blog, which belongs to a dear friend of mine. Her name is Nicole, and this is her blog.

2. I searched and searched and searched for a 30 Day Challenge that fit my requirements, and tickled my fancy, but I couldn't find the perfect one, so I compiled my own one by taking parts from some and parts from others, and adding a few of my own ideas. I think that could be regarded as cheating, but I did it anyway.

3. It's not a photo challenge or a writing challenge, it's both.

4. I've made mine a 31 Day Challenge. Just because I can and it's still legitimate.

Okay, now that we've covered the formalities, here it is:
I'll start tomorrow. This is the part where you become very, very excited.

Friday, 09 December 2011

The Beginning

To tell you the truth, I don't have a clue what I'm doing. I mean, I'm not just talking about this very moment in time, as I sit here typing this. No, I mean in general, I very rarely know exactly what's going on. All I really do know, is that I'd best start preparing myself to embark upon the journey that will take me through my final year of high school. I have no doubt in my mind that it will be the greatest year of my life, so far. I am also not naive enough to believe that it will be smooth sailing. I know for a fact that it's going to be so much harder than I ever anticipated; academically, physically, mentally, and emotionally. I am going to lose myself, my way, my thoughts, and a lot of pens time and time again throughout the upcoming year, so this is my way of keeping track of things, and trying to make sense of what I discover. Hello. My name is Lara. And I have no idea what I'm getting myself into.